What are the different Minecraft biomes?


Biomes are regions in a Minecraft world with differing features and colours, often with items that are unique to that environment. Biomes separate every Minecraft world into different environments for players to explore and dictates whether it will rain, snow or neither during the weather cycle.

There are six biome categories, with different variations belonging to these different categories. The Nether only has one biome, while The End has five. Each of these categories shares similar traits such as temperature, colour and flora, but can differ in terrain design, terrain features, and items available to the player from them.

Snowy biomes

With areas including Frozen River, the Snowy Tundra, and the Ice Spike biomes, snowy biomes will snow at any level and are characterised by having vast amounts of snow as well as packed ice, which is exceptionally rare anywhere else in the game.

They also solely contain spruce trees, and the grass is dark aqua-green. Few mobs spawn in the area, beyond Strays, the occasional wolves, polar bears and rabbits. You can also find Villagers and Pillager in villages throughout the Snow Taiga region. Water in this area is a faint shade of purple and can contain salmon and Drowned.

Cold biomes

Cold biomes, which includes Mountains, most Taiga and the Stone Shore biome, are warmer than snowy biomes, but will snow in areas that are 90 blocks above sea level, mostly on top of mountains or cliffs. The grass and water are similarly shaded to the Snowy biomes, but seem a bit dull in comparison.

Much like the snowy biomes, they are characterised by the vast amount of spruce trees in the area, even including giant spruce forests, but also contain podzol, ferns and mushrooms amongst its giant trees. Wolves, sheep, rabbits, and the usual enemies (zombies, skeletons and creepers) are all found in this area as well as the occasional Village and Pillager outpost.

Lush biomes

A biome that will rain unless they are over 256 blocks above sea level, lush biomes are the most commonly found biome in Minecraft. This category includes most Forests, Plains, Swamps, Jungles, Mushroom Field biomes, and all of The End biomes. As such, there is tremendous variation on what certain areas look like, and what enemies you might face there.

In biomes such as the Forest, Jungles and Plains, the grass is a vibrant light green the same shade as Minecraft promotional art and the default texture for a grass block. This changes when entering swamps and dark forests which have dark green grass. Regardless of the biome, the water in lush areas is always a deep shade of blue.

All common creatures, flora and fauna can be found in lush biomes. Horses and donkeys can be found in Plains, slimes and witch huts in swamps, parrots and ocelots in the Jungle, and turtles and drowned in Rivers and Beaches. They also mostly contain birch and oak trees, except for the Jungle biome that grows jungle trees.

Mushroom Field biomes are comprised of mycelium, not grass, grow giant mushrooms instead of trees, and small mushrooms instead of grass and flowers. Mooshrooms are the only inhabitants of these biomes as no hostile mob, including night spawning mobs, can spawn there naturally, only through mob spawners in underground caverns. Mobs can wander into this area, but cannot spawn there.

The End biome is made up of End Stone with no water and no weather system. The only enemies found in these biomes are endermen, shulkers and the ender dragon, with none of the usual hostile mobs being able to spawn naturally in The End. In these biomes you can find End cities and ships, containing purpur blocks, chorus plants and flowers, and the occasional blocks of obsidian as well as portals back to the Overworld.

Dry & warm biomes

In these biomes it doesn’t rain or snow at any level, becoming overcast when it should be raining. These areas include Desert, Savanna and Badlands, characterised with olive or dark brown grass and light blue-green waters. There are also occasional pockets of lava, except for in the Nether, where lava replaces all water.

Though scarce, cacti, dead bushes, tall grass and acacia trees grow in dry biomes, with the occasional oak trees found in some areas of Badland. The earth that isn’t grass is mostly sand, sandstone, red sandstone, coarse dirt or terracotta, particularly in the Badlands where there are also gold ore deposits and Overworld mineshafts. As well as the usual enemies, Husks can be found roaming the Deserts as can desert villages and rabbits, while horses, llamas, cows and sheep can be found in the Savanna.

The exception to these rules is the Nether biome, which while it never rains, has very little in common with the other biomes in this category. Comprising mostly of netherrack, soul sand and gravel, The Nether has no access to the sky, being lit by fire, lava and glowstone. Nether fortresses made of nether brick are found throughout the biome, as well as magma blocks, nether wart, nether quartz and blaze rods through the slaying of blazes. Other enemies include ghasts, wither skeletons, zombie pigmen and magma slimes. Water cannot be placed in this biome, though ice can.


Aquatic Biomes

Aquatic biomes mostly comprise of vast oceans of water which cover up to 60% of the Overworld. These oceans are differentiated by temperature, the creatures, and items that can be found in them, though most mobs, passive and hostile, remain largely the same.

Warm Oceans are identified by the sand covered ocean floor and a light green tinge to the surface of the water. They contain coral reefs, seagrass and kelp, like most ocean biomes, and shipwrecks with tropical fish swimming alongside typical aquatic mobs. Guardians can appear in these biomes, but only the Deep Ocean variant, where the water is deep enough to spawn ocean monuments.

Cold oceans are characterised with a darker blue hue to the water at any depth and with gravel on the ocean floor, though this can also contain clay. Cod and salmon spawn in this biome type, as well as drowned and dolphins, with guardians spawning in deep versions of this biome. This biome can have small islands dotted throughout them, but only hostile mobs will spawn on these small chunks of land.

Frozen Ocean biomes are dark blue-purple, and its surface is broken up by large ice patches and icebergs of packed and blue ice, where polar bears and stray spawn. Under the water, the floor is comprised of gravel. The only fish in these biomes are salmon and squid, with the water being too cold for other mobs to spawn. Deep Ocean variants of the frozen biome lack the large sheets of ice, but will have icebergs, and spawn guardians and monuments under the water.

Neutral Biomes

These are the biome types that do not fit into any of the other categories or can take on the properties of the biome they are in.

This includes The Void and Hills. The Void is an empty biome that has a stone platform with a single cobblestone block in the centre. This biome can only be accessed through The Void superflat preset and cannot naturally spawn mobs of any type, only able to through spawn eggs, commands or mob spawners.

Hills are variants of specific biomes, such as Deserts, Jungles or Forests and add gentle rolling slopes to the default biome, with some occasional sharper cliffs. Bar the terrain design, they are no different from the biome type that they generate in.

MinecraftNoctis Mori